System of Competition
loading...Please wait while content is loading.
System of Competition

With the participation of ten (10) teams, and under FIBA's current Games Rules, this Championship will be played in three (3) rounds. If there is a tie for the same position during the First and Second Rounds, the respective system established by FIBA for that kind of situations will be also utilized. The teams will be divided in two (2) groups of five (5) teams each.

First phase (26-30 of August)

Second Phase (1-4 of September)
Before the beginning of the second phase, the local team (Puerto Rico) will again have the right to select the order of game days for the second phase. After the second phase all eight teams are ranked in one group and the top four teams Qualify for the semi-finals.

Semifinals (September 5)
The first place team faces the fourth place and the second faces the third team in the quarterfinal standings. The winners play for gold and losers for bronze in the finals.

Finals (September 6)
As for the second phase the order of the semi-finals may be changed according to the commitments of the organizers and the National Television and of FIBA AMERICAS with the respective rights of International Television.

Similarly, the host country has the right to elect with whom to play the first and last match of each phase and the schedule that it will be played from the start of the Championship till the Semi-finals. For the Final day the game for the gold medal must be the last match of the Championship.

The first four (4) teams in the standings after the second phase will qualify directly for the 2010 FIBA World Championship to be played in Turkey.

Final Results
3rd Place
FIBA Daily Newsletter
Subscribe to our daily newsletter and get the latest basketball news directly into your mailbox.